This past week I began my hunt for a truly healthy granola recipe. I wanted to use coconut oil, and little to no sugar. I found some recipes online that looked fantastic, but I didn’t have the ingredients on hand for them…not wanting to run out to the store, I came up with my own recipe using what we had. 

Double Coconut Cherry Granola:

In a large bowl combine: 3 cups rolled oats,  1 cup flaked coconut (I used unsweetened), 2 cups coarsely chopped pecans. 

In a saucepan melt over medium heat: 1/2 cup virgin coconut oil, 1/3-1/2 cup honey, 1 tablespoon vanilla, and 1/4 cup brown sugar. The brown sugar is optional – I made 2 batches, one with the brown sugar and one without…the sugar makes the granola crunchy in a way the honey cannot…plus. I like things sweet, so I preferred the sugar version. Bring to a boil. 

Pour liquid ingredients over oat mixture, combine. Spread on rimmed cookie sheet and bake at 325 for 40-50 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes. When granola is beginning to cool, break into chunks with a wooden spoon, and add 1-2 cups dried cherries. Store in an air-tight container at room temperature.

We LOVE this granola sprinkled over greek yogurt and fruit! Yum!!

